DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Lands on Ollama: Stronger Agentic Performance at Lower Cost

DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 launches on Ollama, highlighting Agent capabilities and lower cost per task.
DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 is now available on Ollama and Ollama Cloud via the tag deepseek-v4.1-flash:1017-cloud. The vendor claims stronger performance on agentic tasks and lower overall cost per task, along with US-based hosting and zero data retention for teams with compliance needs. Ollama also offers single-command integration for Claude Code and OpenCode, letting developers switch the underlying model without configuring API endpoints or keys. However, the original tweet did not disclose parameter count, context length, benchmark scores, or pricing details, and the capability claims remain vendor-only. The article recommends an A/B comparison using the same multi-step tasks, focusing on completion rate, average rounds, and total time rather than per-token price.
The DeepSeek model family has a new member. According to a post from the official Ollama account on Twitter, DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 is now officially available on the Ollama platform, and has simultaneously launched on Ollama Cloud. This version leads with two selling points: stronger performance on agentic tasks, and lower cost per task. For developers who have long been running Agent workflows locally or in the cloud, this update is worth paying attention to.
What Ollama Has Listed This Time
According to the tweet, the new model is offered on Ollama Cloud under the tag deepseek-v4.1-flash:1017-cloud, and the official invocation method is very direct:
ollama run deepseek-v4.1-flash:1017-cloud
More interestingly, Ollama also provides two shortcut integration commands for AI coding tools:
- Claude Code:
ollama launch claude --model deepseek-v4.1-flash:1017-cloud - OpenCode:
ollama launch opencode --model deepseek-v4.1-flash:1017-cloud
This means Ollama isn't just putting the model on its registry—it's plugging it directly into the startup pipeline of two mainstream coding Agents. Developers don't need to configure API endpoints and keys themselves; a single command is enough to switch the underlying model. This "model + toolchain" packaging approach is a clear direction in Ollama's recent productization efforts.
Ollama is an open-source tool for running and distributing large models locally, initially known for "running open-source models locally with a single command"—developers don't need to deal with CUDA environments, quantization formats, or inference framework adaptation. Ollama Cloud is its hosted version: models run on the server side rather than the user's machine, and users invoke them through the same CLI using cloud tags, thereby bypassing local VRAM and compute limitations. The :1017-cloud suffix in this article indicates that the model is hosted in the cloud and corresponds to the 1017 version snapshot. One of Ollama's recent product priorities is packaging its model registry together with upper-layer toolchains, and the ollama launch series of commands is a product of this approach—it handles model endpoint configuration for users and injects the model directly into the startup parameters of coding Agents.
Two Core Promises: Agentic Capability and Cost
The tweet's description of the model's capabilities is quite restrained, just one sentence: "It's strong on agentic tasks while being cheaper per task."
The "per task" wording here is worth noting. It implies that the vendor is focused not simply on per-token pricing, but on the overall expense required to complete a full task. For Agent-type applications, this is the metric that truly affects the bill—if a model is cheap per call but requires repeated retries and multiple rounds of tool calls to converge, the actual cost is higher. DeepSeekAd-V4.1-Flash's choice to use "cost per task" as its marketing framing shows that its optimization target is directly aimed at the end-to-end efficiency of Agent scenarios.
However, it should be made clear: the tweet does not provide specific benchmark numbers, context window size, or tool-call success rates. These capability descriptions are currently only the vendor's one-sided claims, lacking third-party evaluation support, and readers should remain cautious.
Agentic tasks refer to cases where the model doesn't just output a piece of text, but must autonomously plan steps, call external tools (read/write files, execute commands, search the web), and iteratively correct itself based on tool returns until a multi-step goal is completed. Typical scenarios include automatically fixing bugs, cross-file refactoring, and getting an end-to-end development task working. These tasks place very different demands on models compared with single-turn Q&A: they require stable tool-call formats, longer context memory, and the ability to self-correct after errors. Precisely for this reason, evaluating an Agent model cannot rely only on per-token price—a single task often includes dozens of model calls and tool round-trips, and a model with many retry rounds and slow convergence may have a higher end-to-end total expense even if its unit price is low. "Cost per task" is a comprehensive measure that factors in call counts, rounds, and failed retries, and is closer to the real billing structure of Agent applications.
US-Based Hosting and Zero Data Retention
Another key piece of information in the tweet is "US-based hosting with zero data retention," meaning the model is hosted within the United States and promises zero data retention.
For developers in enterprises and regulated industries, this point may be more important than the model's capabilities themselves. Zero data retention means inference requests will not be used for training or long-term storage, reducing data compliance risk; US-based hosting makes it easier to meet data residency requirements. Ollama clearly included these two points in its release copy to send a signal to teams with compliance concerns.
But again, it should be noted that the tweet does not explain the specific scope of zero data retention—whether it covers only Ollama Cloud inference requests, or also derived information such as logs and monitoring data. These details can only be confirmed by consulting Ollama's official terms of service.
Zero data retention (ZDR) is a commitment from cloud service providers regarding customer data: inference requests and their inputs and outputs are not persistently stored after the response is completed, nor are they used for model training. It usually appears alongside data residency requirements—the latter means data must be processed and stored within a specific jurisdiction, which is common in regulated industries such as finance, healthcare, and government. For enterprise users, whether a model can be used in production often depends not on benchmark scores, but on whether these two items satisfy procurement and compliance review. It is important to note that the scope of ZDR commitments varies widely: some cover only the inference payload itself, while others also exempt logs, debugging traces, and abuse monitoring data; some providers also retain short-term abuse detection records. Therefore, "zero data retention" in release copy is only a starting point, and the specific boundaries should be based on the terms of service and data processing agreement (DPA).
Practical Significance for Developers
From an engineering perspective, this update lowers the barrier to trying a new model. In the past, integrating a coding Agent required dealing with a series of issues such as model selection, API compatibility, and tool-call format adaptation; now, through the ollama launch command, Claude Code and OpenCode users can switch the underlying model without changing their workflow, making A/B comparisons easier.
A pragmatic suggestion: if you are using Claude Code or OpenCode to run multi-step coding tasks, you can use the same set of tasks to run both the original model and DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, focusing on task completion rate, average rounds, and total time rather than just per-token price. Whether the vendor's claim of "cheaper per task" holds true can only be answered by your own workload.
Information Gaps to Watch
The shortcomings of this release information are also obvious. The original tweet did not disclose the model's parameter count, context length, whether it supports multimodality, specific scores on mainstream Agent benchmarks, or the differences from previous DeepSeek versions. Pricing details for Ollama Cloud are likewise absent.
For a product release announcement, these are the hard metrics readers care about most. The currently available information is mainly focused on integration methods and two qualitative selling points; the complete model card and capability evaluation still await official documentation or community testing.
Overall, DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 landing on Ollama is an engineering-oriented update: the focus is not on topping leaderboards, but on plugging the model into existing Agent toolchains and using hosted compliance and task-level cost as differentiators. Whether it is worth migrating depends on your task types and data residency requirements; it is advisable to run a small-scale controlled test first before deciding.
One-line Summary
DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 launches on Ollama, highlighting Agent capabilities and lower cost per task.
Paragraph Summary
DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 is now available on the Ollama platform and simultaneously on Ollama Cloud, invoked via the tag deepseek-v4.1-flash:1017-cloud. The vendor claims stronger performance on agentic tasks and lower overall cost per task, along with US-based hosting and zero data retention, targeting teams with compliance needs. Ollama also provides single-command integration for Claude Code and OpenCode, allowing developers to switch the underlying model without configuring API endpoints and keys themselves. However, the original tweet did not disclose parameter count, context length, benchmark scores, or pricing details, and the capability descriptions are currently only the vendor's one-sided claims. The article suggests running an A/B comparison with the same set of multi-step tasks, focusing on task completion rate, average rounds, and total time rather than per-token price.
Related articles

Trump's Request to Rename the Atlantic Rejected by Google; 1Password Lets AI Agents Log In Securely
The Vergecast roundup: Trump's request to rename the Atlantic the 'Trump Ocean' was politely declined by Google's CEO; 1Password's new feature lets AI agents log into accounts without touching passwords; OPPO launches the world's first 200-megapixel phone, the Find X10 Pro Max. All three point to the boundaries of tech authorization and trust.

The Truth About American College Party Culture: The Risks Schools Won't Admit
Behind American college party culture, the administration's "don't ask, don't tell" attitude is amplifying freshman risks. This article analyzes how the pandemic strengthened Greek dominance, freshmen's difficulty accessing safety information, and the chain reactions caused by a culture of denial.

OpenAI Reportedly Raising $30B at $1.25T Valuation Ahead of IPO
OpenAI is planning a $30B funding round at a possible $1.25T valuation, paving the way for an IPO. If completed, it would set a private company valuation record. This article analyzes the funding size, pre-IPO logic, and industry signals.