GPT Image 2.5
A next-generation AI image generation and editing model introduced by OpenAI. It demonstrates strong performance on inpainting tasks by deeply coupling language understanding with image editing, enabling more natural content blending and semantically aware editing.
Timeline (last 90 days)
GPT Image 2.5 is conspicuously absent from the image generation rankings on that list, and multiple commentators pointed out this major omission.
The final score across 8 head-to-head tests was OpenAI leading 3 to 2, with 3 draws.
In the documentary portrait task, GPT Image 2.5 independently added a red fez hat to the elderly subject, which was not requested in the prompt.
The chat completions endpoint of GPT Image 2.5 rejected these image models during testing, requiring calls via POST /api/v1/images.
When editing with GPT Image 2.5, reference images are passed via the input_references field, supporting URLs or base64, with a maximum of 16 images.
GPT Image 2.5's Flare version is priced the same as Sunburst at every tier, but is nearly twice as fast.
If aspect_ratio is not specified in the first call to GPT Image 2.5, it may return 3:2 instead of the expected 16:9.
GPT Image 2.5 costs $0.0326 per image at the high quality tier, with an output resolution of 1536x864.
GPT Image 2.5 won this round of testing with a composite score of 78.2, the only entry to break 78 points.
The Along the River During the Qingming Festival scene generated by Luna Max over an hour and a half proactively rendered characters, roof textures, and shop fronts as textures displayed in the 3D scene, making full use of GPT-image's image generation capabilities.
3 more timeline events
All Facts (13)
GPT Image 2.5 is conspicuously absent from the image generation rankings on that list, and multiple commentators pointed out this major omission.
50%UnverifiedThe final score across 8 head-to-head tests was OpenAI leading 3 to 2, with 3 draws.
50%UnverifiedIn the documentary portrait task, GPT Image 2.5 independently added a red fez hat to the elderly subject, which was not requested in the prompt.
50%UnverifiedThe chat completions endpoint of GPT Image 2.5 rejected these image models during testing, requiring calls via POST /api/v1/images.
50%UnverifiedWhen editing with GPT Image 2.5, reference images are passed via the input_references field, supporting URLs or base64, with a maximum of 16 images.
50%UnverifiedGPT Image 2.5's Flare version is priced the same as Sunburst at every tier, but is nearly twice as fast.
50%UnverifiedIf aspect_ratio is not specified in the first call to GPT Image 2.5, it may return 3:2 instead of the expected 16:9.
50%UnverifiedGPT Image 2.5 costs $0.0326 per image at the high quality tier, with an output resolution of 1536x864.
50%UnverifiedGPT Image 2.5 won this round of testing with a composite score of 78.2, the only entry to break 78 points.
50%UnverifiedThe Along the River During the Qingming Festival scene generated by Luna Max over an hour and a half proactively rendered characters, roof textures, and shop fronts as textures displayed in the 3D scene, making full use of GPT-image's image generation capabilities.
50%UnverifiedFor users who have already subscribed to a commercial service, the marginal cost of using GPT Image 2.5 for inpainting is nearly zero.
50%UnverifiedClosed-source models such as GPT Image 2.5 are currently difficult to use directly in ComfyUI unless you write your own nodes.
50%UnverifiedA creator on Reddit stated that using GPT Image 2.5 for inpainting feels like cheating.
50%